Keiiryeomin's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kyuhyun’s ‘First acting challenge’ December 2, 2010

Filed under: kyuhyun,super junior — keiiryeomin @ 3:42 am
Tags:

On November 29, during an interview around 1 PM, Super Junior Kyuhyun expressed his thoughts on his first challenge in a musical after his debut. On this day, besides Kyuhyun, the practice room also saw the presence of Yoon Joonsang, Uhm Kijoon, ChunSangJiHee Dana, Kim Jinsoo, Min Yeongki, and other actors.

On the public site of the practice room for the open rehearsal of the musical ‘The Three Musketeers’, at the Chungmu Art Hall in Seoul, Kyuhyun confessed “More than half of the Super Junior members have confronted themselves with musicals, so I was worried as to why I alone wasn’t getting any offer.” In fact, among all Super Junior members, Yesung, Sungmin, Donghae, Kangin, and Heechul have experienced appearing in musicals before. Especially Yesung, who has a solid role as a musical actor after having played in ‘South Korean Mountain Fortress’, ‘Hong Gil Dong’, and ‘Spamalot’.

On this day, Kyuhyun talked about how he was given the opportunity to have his first musical role, and how he was picked to be one of the actors in ‘The Three Musketeers’. He disclosed that “I didn’t choose to be in ‘The Three Musketeers’, it’s ‘The Three Musketeers’ that chose me,” and “I present myself with a heart full of gratitude towards all the people who let me join this production.” He also added with determination, “And since I have been chosen by the producers of the musical ‘The Three Musketeers’ to fill in the role of D’Artagnan, I will do my best.”

Kyuhyun, who is now getting initiated to acting, said with a laugh “I have really been wanting to give musicals a try since long. More than half of the members already did a musical, so I troubled myself thinking ‘Why isn’t any musical being offered to me’. But while I was agonizing over it, I got my musical! Luckily, for my very first time, I’m with ‘The Three Musketeers’ sunbaenims who are really amazing, and that makes me feel good.”

Then he talked about his aspirations, “Although I’ve never done acting, not even once, I’m adapting to the sunbaenims’ mentality one by one. I’m really worried, but they have been giving me a lot of advice, so I think I’m going to get better in skill.” He then opened his heart and admitted, “So, although I truly wanted to be in a musical, I clearly lack in conveying and expressing emotions because I don’t have any experience in acting. But I also believe I can improve by carefully observing my sunbaenims.”

Set in the France of the 17th century, ‘The Three Musketeers’ is a musical about D’Artagnan, a young man who dreams of becoming a musketeer of the royal family, and the court’s Musketeers Athos, Porthos, and Aramis. The adventures of these people and the conspiracy of the powerful cardinal of the French royal household will liven up this musical.

At the end of 2010, ‘The Three Musketeers’ will start to be performed in the splendidly decorated Chungmu Art Hall in Seoul, going from December 15 until January 30 (tickets price range: 40,000~120,000 won).

Translated by. Gaia at SJ-WORLD.NET

 

Leave a comment